The best I-told-you-so moment I’ve had in a while

highly anticipated film

Last year I told you that 50 Shades of Grey was going to be a bad movie. I gave you a whole bunch of other movies to look forward to instead.

I think you all agreed actually.

This little chart taken from Rotten Tomatoes seems to prove me right…

box office news

The percentages you’re looking at here relate to the proportion of critics that thought the movie was good.

But actually I like to ignore critics – I think they don’t represent me very well because they tend to view films more as a piece of art than a piece of entertainment.

Here are the percentages of the general public that say they liked it:

50 shades – 50% liked it
Shaun the Sheep – 86% liked it
Big Hero 6 – 92% liked it

Now considering that for all these movies (but particularly 50 shades), you’re only really going to go see it if you’re a fan anyway. If you see 50 Shades you probably love the book, Shaun the Sheep you probably love the TV show and Big Hero 6 you probably love Disney animation (like Frozen) or maybe you loved the trailer.

That means you’re looking for around 80% of the audience to like it to guarantee it to be a decent film – that’s a safe percentage.

If 70% liked it, you’ll probably still be ok – but anything less you need to really make sure you’re willing to pay the money for that ticket.

50 shades getting 50% from Audiences and 26% from critics makes me think that it’s a bad film. Though I’ll never watch it so I can’t know for sure.

But it is based on twilight fan fiction… I feel like people forget that.

There’s always an element of risk when taking a trip to the cinema. You could see something terrible or miss something great.

As yet I haven’t found a better way to minimise this risk than combining the rotten tomatoes audience score with a decent knowledge of what type of films I normally like.

Anyway, I really want to see Big Hero 6. I love the trailer, I quite like animated movies and it has killed on Rotten Tomatoes. I honestly don’t know why I haven’t seen it yet.

Also, if you’re wondering why critics loved Shaun the Sheep so much (100% liked it!), it’s because there is no talking in it which pretty much adds an extra 20% guaranteed to a critics opinion – they’re fickle like that.

I bet it’s still pretty good though.

