The best things about not living alone

*BAM! Guest Blog! Hazel’s done it again! So could you*

A while ago I extolled the virtues of a solo living arrangement. However, I must confess, living alone does have its drawbacks from time to time. This is no place for complaining, there are no worst things here, but being the positive person I am  I feel this is a great opportunity to celebrate the other side. And what better way to do so than by looking from the reverse.

So, the best things about living with others:

1. There are some things that you just can’t do alone

One of the first problems I encountered about living alone was shortly after buying some furniture to furnish my one bedroom flat. On the first page of the instruction manual I encountered this:

Hazel 1

I felt like the tiny figures were mocking me. “Look at this sad little person, all alone” they said. “And look how happy he/she is now because they have a friend!” I showed them though; my chest of drawers is still standing strong despite having a lone assembler.

Hazel 2

I found imitating the people in the diagram with a hammer and a pencil behind the ear definitely helped

 

And I didn’t screw it to the wall as the instructions told me to. And I haven’t been crushed the way the diagram suggests. So there.

There are plenty of others. Have you ever measured yourself for clothing by yourself? Why do they need the length from the base of my throat to the floor anyway?! And this very morning I discovered putting a plaster on your own ankle is very difficult. Which leads me to my next point:

2. Sometimes you need looking after

I got something like the flu last year which knocked me out for about 2 weeks. The kind that means making yourself a cup of tea feels like a colossal effort and all you want to do is sleep. In the first few days my nose was running so badly I couldn’t sleep, and ended with me in my bedroom at 3am with a tissue stuffed up each nostril, crying loudly out of sheer exhaustion.

Lucky for me, I was still living in a shared house and my kindly housemates made me drinks, washed my mugs, and bought me tissues, Lemsip and ready meals so I didn’t have to attempt a trip to ASDA. I’m very glad I wasn’t living alone at that point.

I wasn’t so lucky when I sprained my ankle a few months ago and had to hobble around my flat with a walking stick. However, since buying new, incredibly sharp kitchen knives, slicing open my hand has become so commonplace that I can get a plaster on it in record time without assistance.

3. “Having a quiet night in” no longer sounds tragic

Sometimes I like nothing better than spending the evening sitting in front of the TV with my knitting. If I ever tell people this though, I always feel the need to make a joke about how tragic it sounds, just to anticipate any derision or sympathy it may generate.

“Yep, got a wild Friday night planned – going to make some progress on my tea cosy while binge watching Prison Break, ha!”

There are no such connotations if “we” are having a quiet night-in in front of the telly.

I hope I have given all you house-sharers a renewed appreciation of your living situation. And non-house-sharers, let me know if you need any help with flat-pack assembly. I have my own tool kit.

