The best thing to do with signs

Signs are there to be useful. They help us get from A to B and us know we’re in the right place. They give guidance when needed.

However, they can become a bit too normal and a bit too everyday, we see them all the time and they never change. So what can we do? Put a bit of extra writing on them.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating graffiti, but if you see a “To let” sign down your street you just know it’s crying out for an ‘i’.

To-Let

And for those signs which have already been tampered with, well, they’re pretty funny. Take this one in York for instance:

IMG_1155

It actually made me more attentive to stop and conscious of what was going on around me (despite also taking a picture at the time).

Or how about a few other gems from around the world:

The “make sure you check if anything’s behind you before going into the ‘no entry’ area”

Street sign graffiti 1

The “HEY! Give me my line back”

No entry sign - Street Graffiti

The “headbanger”

Street sign graffiti 3

The “you were going on a journey anyway so…”

Street sign graffiti 4

No words.

Street sign graffiti 5

