The best drink not to be ashamed of

Which drink are you?

Which drink are you?

Everyone loves a good drink, whether it be alcoholic or non-alcoholic, fizzy or non-fizzy, hot or cold, fruity or bitter, we tend to drink quite a lot. I suppose it has something to do with its necessity for human survival but many people simply enjoy the act of drinking.

“Fancy getting a drink later?” is code for hanging out rather than some good thirst quenching advice. It’s seen as a social occasion. Many people go for coffee without any need for a caffeine boost, they simply like the taste.

Myself, I could list plenty of drinks I enjoy for their own sake: beer, coke, wine, tea, orange juice, coffee, gin and tonic and so on. But there is one glaring omission from this list, which I’m sure many others would also fail to include: water.

This elephant definitely appreciates water. You should too.

This elephant definitely appreciates water. You should too.

I love water. I like drinking it. I think it tastes good. Yet, whenever I go round to a friend’s house I almost feel apologetic when I ask for a glass of tap water.

“We’ve got squash, juice, tea or coffee”

And then I do the callous thing of ordering off the menu, “Could I just have a glass of tap water please?”

“Are you sure? It’s really no trouble to get you something else.”

“Seriously, water will be great…”

“OK… *cough* weirdo *cough*”

"Who are you and why have I invited you into my home?"

“Who are you and why have I invited you into my home?”

I’m not sure why many people appear visibly annoyed when I do this. Perhaps it’s because they’ve bought in all these extra drinks which now won’t get drunk, or maybe they want to show how hospitable they are and I’m pulling that rug out from under their feet, I don’t know. One thing I am pretty certain about though, I really like water.

Let me list some of the things I like about water:

We need it to survive. It’s not too sugary or sickly. It ‘feels’ clean. It’s incredibly refreshing, more so than a beer or a coke. It doesn’t ruin your teeth. It’s free. It can prevent headaches. Your dentist doesn’t shout at you if you drink it.

They'll be so proud of you!

They’ll be so proud of you!

I think we all need to stand tall if we love water, don’t be afraid to ask for it in someone else’s house. Let’s not be embarrassed of our affection for this life-giving drink.

And to all you water sneerers, who don’t believe it’s a real drink when I ask for it, I hope you can be more understanding in the future…

