The best day to not do any shopping

This is what it looks like when you try to access the tesco website right now

This is what it looks like when you try to access the Tesco website right now

 

There are two reasons that make me think Black Friday is the best day to do something, anything other than shopping.

Firstly, it’s called Black Friday. Like the Black spot, the Black Death and Black pudding (gross food made out of blood – for anyone who has not had the pleasure). Black often signals impending doom.

The second is that it exists to make money for large businesses. That’s the point of it. The frenzy it creates is ideal because it makes people think they are getting great value, when actually they are probably spending money they don’t really have.

Black Friday makes me want to go out and buy a Playstation 4 right now – even though I know I can’t afford it until next year probably. But the thought that I might save £20 is making me crazy.

And that craziness is exactly what feeds the giant companies.

So it’s probably a good thing that today I am at work and then I’m at some weird busking concert in the evening.

I’ll stick to my regular Friday I think – and get excited about not having to wait in a queue for anything.

 

