The best thing I can say about Les Miserables

Guest blog! You know the drill. Here’s guest contributor, Jack, weighing in with some very special film insights.

 

LesMis_rables_2446250b

I should be the ideal reviewer of Les Mis. I love literature, I used to be a regular guest on NSR Film Show and I have been to France… TWICE.

In fact, I once had to review Les Mis on the student radio. The host asked me for my opinions, and I think it’s fair to say I blew him away. Our audience of ten could not believe their ears.

Most people say that the scene where the priest gives Jean Valjean his silver is a beautiful demonstration of love, grace and forgiveness.

I’m not going to though, because I don’t know what I’m talking about. I’ve never seen the film or the play. I haven’t read the book. I’ve not even read the wikipedia page. To write that second line I had to google ‘main character of Les Mis’.
To be honest with you, until a few years ago I thought it was a painting.
 .
Les Miserables

The smile is masking a deep sense of misery – you can see it in her eyes.

As you can see, I actually have nothing to say about Victor Hugo’s masterpiece.Yet there I was on the radio, the host gazing expectantly at me, his mum and our classmates listening eagerly (that’s what I like to think anyway).
 .
In these situations you have to stick with what you know. I couldn’t risk rehashing some sentiment about the forgiveness of Jean Jean Frenchman; what if someone asked me his name?
 .
So I said the best thing I could think of.

“The advert is good.”

The best thing I can say about Les Miserable is that the advert for the 2012 film adaptation is good. If you haven’t seen it yet, you should (I mean the advert, I can’t comment on the film or the play).
.
Here it is…
 .

 

Good art is supposed to make you experience a range of feelings. I get so emotional when I watch that clip, I think it should be in the Louvre.
