The best ‘shell with shoes on’

A few years ago I was introduced to a friendly character. His name was Marcel.

He may not look like your average shell, after all he’s got an eye and is wearing some shoes, but that adds to his appeal. He’s a friendly guy and would like to share some of his thoughts with you. If you haven’t seen this Youtube video (and let’s be honest, even if you have) then you definitely need to watch it:

This is the first outing of Marcel, giving us some of his vital views on his world.

But he’s more than just a one-video wonder, here he is again in 2011 spreading his joy once more:

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On is the stop-motion baby of director Dean Fleischer-Camp and actor Jenny Slate, who both wrote the short. The original, and the first video I posted was made in 2010 and has over 23.6 million views on Youtube. It’s a bit of a big deal. No wonder, it’s flippin’ hilarious.

So why am I only bringing this up now? It’s a bit of old news to be telling you about something which happened in 2010.

Well, they’ve only just gone and put out a whole new video of Marcel!

It’s what we’ve all been waiting for for 3 years. I was getting severe withdrawal symptoms and my nightmares were filled with people telling me that Marcel was never coming back. How wrong those imaginary people were.

Here he is in all his glory:

These videos are delightfully weird and bizarrely funny. I wholeheartedly recommend them to you.

I never knew that about shrimps either…

