The best way to go on an emotional rollercoaster

I’m so happy! I’m so angry! How could they do that?! I’m so glad they chose that?! Wait? What?! Noooooooooooo. Yaaaaaay!

XFactorTitles

If you were wondering what just happened, it’s a representation of all the emotions you go through whilst watching the X Factor. They make a decision and you’re shouting at the TV screen because it’s so patently wrong, but you’re loving every minute of it.

Today I nearly watched an entire episode and I found it slightly ridiculous. The producers, judges and editors have carefully crafted every scene to provide as much emotional feeling as possible and get you mentally invested in the programme. You go through the heartbreak and the joy, the pain and the happiness.

If this were a simple talent show, everything would be a whole lot easier. If people were bad then they would be sent home. If people couldn’t sing then they would be sent home. But that doesn’t happen with the X Factor. Oh no it doesn’t.

They’ve introduced this method of selection this year which involves there only being 6 chairs for an excess of 6 artists. They whittle down the camp and some people will inevitably be knocked out. However, once the chairs are filled, the act filling the chair can still be removed if another act performs better.

6 chair challenge

Here are 6 chairs. Hopefully this helps explain the situation a bit better

Basically no-one is safe and they treat the whole thing like a giant pantomime.

“Who should I get rid of? I’m hearing 2. I’ve made a decision, I’m going to get rid of 2.”

Crowd: “Boooooooooooooooooooooo! Nooooooooooooooo!”

“I’m listening to the crowd. I’m hearing they didn’t like that decision (of course they didn’t you plonker because it was a terrible decision and you knew it). I’ll get rid of 3.”

Crowd: “(quieter) Boooooo”

For the most part I’m expecting someone in the audience to shout “he’s behind you!”, where ‘he’ is actually a talented artist.

Simon-Cowell

Simon Cowell is 100% the X Factor pantomime dame…

I don’t know if its my age or the early onset grumpiness which means I am not loving the X Factor any more because it reeks of management manipulation to make the show interesting, whilst playing with the poor contestants feelings. I just feel angry that the judges keep changing their mind, but some of those poor souls are crushed because their fairytale dream is now over. It’s a bit harsh.

I’m not going to lie though, it’s entertaining television…

