The best way to deal with a ‘chicken on the bus’ situation

This is how ready I am for any situation in my life...

This is how ready I am for any situation in my life…

I often find that I become complacent about things in life. Everything appears to be going OK and that nothing can go wrong. So when something unexpected happens, when I get a shock to the system, I’m frequently unprepared for it.

This is what I call a ‘chicken on the bus’ situation.

Let me explain…

Recently I was on a hell-ish coach journey from Bulgaria to Turkey (yes, this is another story from my holiday, deal with it, there’ll be another coming) and we had arrived at a rest-stop to rest. Everyone on the bus was suitably tired and I was dozing off myself when suddenly I heard a thump and a ‘braahck’ sound.

I turned around and there before me was a chicken. A chicken on the bus.

I didn't have the presence of mind to take a photo but I'm sure this will help you to imagine the situation

I didn’t have the presence of mind to take a photo but I’m sure this will help you to imagine the situation

I’ve never had to deal with a chicken before, particularly not one which has defiantly made its way onto a coach – they’re the most adventurous of chickens – so I immediately became tense and alert, knowing that I may be the only one who could deal with our new found chicken dilemma.

What did I do? I waited. I wanted to see how the chicken behaved. Would it come at my bus colleagues with a rabid beak attack, or would it leave in peace?

I also checked to see if anyone else was awake, partly to ensure this wasn’t just a dream and partly to see if they could help/be the audience for my impending chicken heroics. There was!

We stared at each other and then back to the chicken. It felt like we bonded over this ridiculous situation. I no longer felt so under pressure.

Eventually the chicken left from whence it came and the situation was nowhere near as problematic as it could have become.

And this is how we should deal with shocks in life, our own ‘chicken on the bus’ situations. Instead of panicking, we should wait and see if it really is that bad because it probably isn’t. We should deal with it calmly and not rashly. We should be prepared to act and step-up when it’s clear that we need to do something.

Finally, and most importantly, we shouldn’t try and do it all on our own. Other people can help. They can support us. We are stronger together despite what this self-centred world may teach you.

