The best thing which has happened to me recently

Change

There’s a lot of change going on in my life at the moment. I’ll be leaving my first job today and I’ll be moving much further north in the coming months.

I’ve got to keep up with the constants in my life. And one key constant is my TV. It doesn’t change from day to day, it stays pretty much the same just with slightly different programmes.

But one of the most frustrating things about my TV is that it likes to beep and describe the TV shows. The beeping is somehow piercing, no matter whatever the volume of the TV. It’s a constant reminder that at some point I made a real mistake with the remote and it has haunted me ever since.

Loud noise

And the audio description is just as annoying, primarily because I often forget it is actually on. I’ll be happily minding my own business, just having switched onto a channel and suddenly I hear a very eloquent voice telling me: “Paul stares at Andy disdainfully as a delightful sunset dominates the background.”

I’ve always been happy when I remember to turn it off  before I hear it because it is like a knife to the heart.

But recently something amazing happened to me – I switched both of these things off!

success-baby

Honestly, I could have cried with joy.

I still haven’t fully grown accustomed to it. I wince early because I expect to hear the piercing beep, I check constantly that the AD is actually switched off. When they don’t come, it’s great!

It just shows, you shouldn’t give up quickly on the things you can’t do. I thought I’d broken my TV forever but it turns out I hadn’t, I just needed to try a bit more.

It was a great success.

Maybe try trying at something you thought was hopeless again, it worked out OK for me and my TV in the end, it might work out for you…

