The best way to deal with Windows 8

Windows 8

AAAAHHHH!

I recently bought a new laptop which came with Windows 8. When I say recently, I literally turned it on for the first time today, it’s still shiny and not wrecked which shows that it must be new.

It’s a Samsung Ativ Book 9 Lite with some specs which no-one really cares about. Basically, it’s quite small and light which is nice and cost about how much I wanted to spend.

Samsung_Ativ_Book_9_Plus_screen

Totally just discovered my laptop could go flat like this. Not sure how useful that is but I’m still pretty chuffed

As it’s new I was aware it would come with Windows 8 which I was staunchly against. Who wants two different command centres, one classic desktop and one with apps on it?!

A computer isn’t meant to have apps, it’s meant to have programmes.

It turns out my fear of the unknown Windows 8 was allayed quickly by me having a little play around on it. It’s actually kind of cool that I can use apps. It means I avoid all that laborious clicking on the internet for Youtube, I can just use an app!

The unknown

I walked into the unknown and came out the other side understanding Windows 8 a little bit more

So what would be my advice on how to deal with Windows 8? Well, I would say just have a go. Make mistakes. Move stuff around. And, if all else fails, then read the help manual, it’s actually pretty useful.

I learnt how to kill apps, navigate between the apps, get up familiar things such as the Control Panel and My Computer, and all within the space of about 15 minutes.

Sure Windows 8 doesn’t have the friendly start button, but we only knew how to use that because we grew up using it, not because there weren’t any alternatives.

Start button

Hello, friendly old friend! You’ve served me well in the past

By this point you may be fuming with me thinking, “I like your optimism Steve but I really hate Windows 8, it’s stupid and it’s stupid and I don’t get it!”

Well, to you I would say that you just need to keep trying. Devote some of your precious time to understanding the real capabilities of your new computer. You may even discover that you find it intuitive and really like having the active apps hanging around.

There’s my advice to you if you are a frustrated Windows 8 user. Please take it on board.

If you don’t like it then you need to buy a computer from 10 years ago because times are a-changing and I doubt Microsoft will back-track from their current path. Or you could buy an Apple (money, money, money, must be funny…) or a Chromebook (give Google even more information on your life).

Me, I’m happy with my purchase and the slightly confusing Windows 8. Perhaps I’m just in the honeymoon phase at the moment but hopefully I’ll enjoy it for months to come.

P.S. If you were actually hoping for this to be instructive about Windows 8 rather than a ‘deal with it’ post then I would try moving your mouse to the corners – they pretty much do everything…

