The best thing to do with your chicken-custard fajita of a life

Image

This is you in 5 minutes – after reading this post.

It’s a Friday and I want to ask you a question. Steve’s already provided the whimsy today with his gnome invasion. That means it’s my turn to get almost serious right now.

In fact my main purpose is to make you have a crisis.

Maybe a mid-life crisis, maybe a quarter-life crisis – really wherever you’re at I want to give you some drama. Make you buy a motorbike or plant a thousand trees.

The question is simple: What are you doing with your life?

Like, seriously, what are you doing?

All this breathing, moving and thinking that you’re doing – what’s the point? Is there a vision behind it or are you just sort of functioning?

Image

This picture signifies that I’m in trouble now.

Looking at the title of this post and the content so far, it seems like I’m just about to tell you exactly how to live your life.

And that’s a problem.

If there is one thing I know for sure it’s that you can’t tell the internet what to do… people don’t like that sort of thing. They prefer pictures of happy kittens.

But there is one thing I want to say and it’s super short and super simple.

It’s this…

Whatever you do with your life, do it deliberately.

Sometimes, when left alone for a day, I look down at myself and realise I have spent the last 3 hours of my life building a most excellent team on fifa. This isn’t bad in itself but now I have a headache and I’m not even near what contentment feels like.

If I just did what the lazy part of me wanted all the time I would probably end up as a round ball of lard who was really good at fifa and not very good at friends or life.

Humans need projects, we need to aim for something. Maybe you should start a blog about the best things in the world – oh wait, sorry we already did that one.

Still, I’m sure there’s some way that an element of planning, working towards a goal, or putting in a bit of deliberate effort could help you out today.

I guess I should also add to this by saying ‘Don’t be an idiot.’ In case you thought this blog was encouraging you to join Hydra (sorry non marvel fans) or cook up your hamster for dinner tonight.

But that’s all I’m going to say because I don’t know what you should do with your life exactly.

Your life looks different to mine – different in a sort of gross way – like a fajita filled with chicken-flavoured custard.

But if you’re into that I guess that’s fine…

chicken in something that looks like custard

Wrap this up in a fajita and that is how your life looks to me…

 

 

