The 5 best films of 2015 that you should anticipate more than 50 Shades of Grey

Image

I read in The i (newspaper) yesterday that 50 Shades of Grey is the most highly anticipated movie of 2015. It was said as if it was some sort of fact – a piece of information that accurately represents the opinions of the world.

I hope for all our sakes that it isn’t true.

Anticipation is the last thing I feel about the 50 Shades of Grey movie. What I feel could be described as 70% Apathy, 20% fear and 10% disbelief. Part of me just can’t believe they are making a movie of it.

But instead of wallowing in my own misery (not very Best Things attitude) and complaining about a story that I haven’t even read, I’ll give you five films that are going to be better… That’s a Best Things guarantee (this doesn’t mean much… it’s sort of like getting a thumbs up as you fail your driving test)

Here we go, I’m feeling psyched…

1. The adventures of Tintin: Prisoners of the sun

Image

When Spielberg took hold of Tintin he did an excellent job. The first movie was funny and had incredible action sequences. I think the second could be even better. The dog is hilarious as well – I love a good movie dog.

If you’re not really anticipating Tintin at all, let me tell you that I’ve started with a movie that will be good but probably not great. If you think 50 Shades will be better though, maybe you are unaware that it is fully based on Twighlight fanfiction (thanks for that fact, Wikipedia)

2. Bond 24

Bond and Q art gallery

I hope these happy buddies reunite

James is back and so is Sam Mendes. He’s the director that made Skyfall so amazing. This is going to be good.

3. Avengers: age of Ultron

Remember those guys that punched a lot of aliens in New York while making witty remarks. Well they’re back. I know it’s not a classy choice – it’s really the most sequely of all the sequels ever but it’s perfect escapism and you can trust old Joss Whedon to do something fun.

4. Assassin’s Creed 

Image

Movie versions of video games are usually terrible. But Assassins Creed is so good. It’s time travel, it’s free running, it’s secret blades, it’s cool hooded costumes and it’s got a heart. Michael Fassbender will play the lead and I’m hoping that this will be incredible.

Fun fact: Assassin is one of the only words I know that starts with the word ass twice in a row.

 5. Star Wars Episode VII

I was worried that what they said in ‘The i’ was true: maybe people were anticipating 50 shades the most. Then I remembered that Star Wars is coming out on December the 18th. And no one can anticipate anything as much as Star Wars fans – it’s impossible.

JJ Abrams is going to make it great and it’s got Domnhall Gleeson in. Star Wars taught me everything I know about roman numerals actually.

 

So have i managed to convince you that 50 Shades should not be anticipated? Have I given you a few other options to look forward to? Or should I repeat that thing about how it’s all based on Twilight again?

 

 

 

