The best life lesson you could ever learn from a song

You should trust this man

You should trust this man

Truth is hard to come by but I’ve found some in a song. The song focuses on friendship and explores the question “What makes a good friend?”

Some people have friends with benefits, others have friends with money. But if that sounds appealing to you, I’m sorry to say that you are wrong. Chasing after these fancy friends is misguided.

It’s obvious that you need to hear the best song lyrics that you ever could hear. Let me quote some at you:

I sat beside a man from Hollywood, California on a plane
He said he had rich and famous friends, yeah he liked droppin’ names
I said, “Well, howdy do, that’s good for you, I dig a lot of those actors
But son you ain’t got a thing on me, see I got friends with tractors”

This is the first verse of Rodney Atkins’ Friends with tractors and it perfectly captures the lesson that you need to learn…

You don’t need fancy friends with money and status, you just need friends with tractors. Those are the guys that will help you out in the end.

I love this song and I want you to be convinced of Rodney Atkins’ theory.

In the chorus, he lists several reasons why having friends with tractors is an excellent thing.

  • They’ll grow your groceries
  • They’ll haul a load
  • They’ll pull you out
  • They’ll fix the road
  • They’re good at slowin’ speeders down when they pass through from out of town

That’s pretty much the list of qualities I look for in a friend. Rodney has made a very valid point. He’s like an american Socrates in many ways.

Another great thing about this song is the youtube comments… they’re pretty special.

People are big into tractors:

Image

There’s so much to love in the above exchange. Ryan Moyer confirming to the world that his sister wasn’t lying when she said he liked tractors, Jamie’s good effort at grammar and Guns Trucks Fish having the best youtube name ever.

This song is a gold mine. It’s pretty catchy as well. The only thing you have to do now is listen to it. It’s on spotify as well youtube – that’s how I found it actually. A wander into the country playlists turned out to be completely worth it.

Here’s the video…

