The best new Google-thing I discovered

Google is the fount of most knowledge. Even for the obscure subjects you’re likely to find something.

For instance, typing in “who would win in a fight between a chicken and a duck” retrieves 4,770,000 results, which is frankly ridiculous. If you can’t find a satisfactory answer to your question from that volume of results then you’re obviously not looking hard enough.

Duck and Chicken

It’s all about to kick off between these two, the chicks are there to ensure the fight is fair…

If you were wondering, there isn’t a consistent answer to this but I believe this person’s first hand experience:

“actually it is the duck. I know this cause my young male duck and one of the young roosters fought off and on all day one day for no apparent reason lol. The duck never gives up and rooster finally got away from the duck (both of them were young)”

Source:

I saw it with my own two eyes on my farm”
I sure do wish she would punctuate a bit more though…
Anyway, I discovered this new Google-thing when I was asking Google to define me new words, such as ‘redolent’ which someone suggested to include in a recent report I was writing. It fit perfectly but I didn’t include it because no-one knows what redolent means. It was irksome and plaguy.
So this Google-thing is the Ngram viewer which tracks the usage of a word in literature over the past 200, or so, years. I think it does stretch further back but the results seem a bit sketchy. Below is the Ngram for redolent which shows it was popular around 1855:
Ngram - redolent
Some of you may not find this interesting but I am entranced by it and love to see how word usage has evolved.
You can do some obvious ones like ‘television’ which steeply increases around the time they became popular. Interestingly, it has now begun to dip:
     Ngram - televison
Or ‘steam’ which steadily increased from when the industrial revolution was felt to impact life significantly (1820-40) and peaking around the start of the First World War (not entirely sure why – any historians like to let me know…):
Ngram - steam
Looking at the words ‘me’ and ‘I’ suggests that we were the most selfless around the 1970’s and we are currently on an upward trajectory of  narcissism:
Ngram - I and me
Discouragingly, ‘us’ is lacking a bit in literature and ‘we’ have seen better days:
Ngram - us and we
The little upwards inflection gives me a small amount of hope. Togetherness is on the rise. We can do it society.
N.B. ‘society’ is following a downwards trend…just saying…
Ngram - society
