The best way to make money

In this life a lot of people want to make money. Those who don’t have it, feel they need it, and those who do have it, want more. Many succumb to the intoxicating effects of acquiring a plethora of ‘things’.

In fact, I believe the eternal philosophers G-Unit said it best: “Money make the world go round so let’s get mo'”.

G-Unit-wallpaper

This is G-Unit showing off the money they’ve made. The guy in the middle only has 50 cent though – that’s why he’s not showing it off…

And to some extent that is true – money is the liquid which flows and permeates every crack and pore across the world. It speaks and it has power. It does have its place.

But I’m not going to tell you how to get rich or even make a penny, there are plenty of those things about already. They probably tell you to invest your money, or set up a website which can provide you with easy gains via advertising, or write a blog in the hope that enough people read it to warrant you giving up your full time job (tell your friends).

I’m going to tell you about a money museum in Belgrade which takes you through the history of the Serbian currency.

The museum is contained in one room and is pretty underwhelming. It does have some cool things though, like the notes which were created during a period of hyperinflation.

Stop!

History lesson time:

In Serbian Krajina in 1992 the highest denomination of bank note was 50,000 dinara. By 1993 the highest denomination was 50,000,000,000 dinara. That is a factor of 1,000,000 between the years. Assuming this was over a 12 month period, that is an inflation rate of 216% per month. The UK currently has a monthly inflation rate of about 0.4%. This inflation was hyper!

Hyperinflation in Serbia

Back to the money museum.

Despite its lack of excitement it had one amazing redeeming feature. You could get your face printed on a bank note from 1884! And it was completely free!

I had my photo taken and I was pretty excited – the evidence of this is below:

Bank note

After I received my note, one of my friends had a go and they pulled a solemn face. I was confused and thought he had just wasted his one chance of a super cool souvenir, when he reminded me that people on banknotes don’t smile.

I was taken aback. How could I have been so foolish?! I lost my head and my thoughts in my pure elation – of course you don’t smile – that would look too happy and, as we all know, money doesn’t buy happiness.

I straight away wanted to have my go again to get a proper moody faced bank note but I realised that would be a faux pas, and the man doing the printing certainly didn’t want to take my photo again.

Anyway, the moral of this story is: if you’re passing through Belgrade then you definitely need to get to the bank and go to this museum to make some money. After all, it’s got your face on it.

