The best thing to do on a Friday night

Well, dear reader, it’s Friday night and that means radio 1 start playing loud music I don’t like, some people head to clubs I don’t go to and generally the weekend kicks in for everyone.

But have you ever wondered what the best thing to do on a Friday night is? Or are you even wondering what you should be doing with your evening tonight?

Well let me introduce you to something.It’s called rooftopping and it looks like this:

Rooftopping

Danger! There is a lot of danger in this photo!

Now of course I don’t want you to actually do this. It’s pretty dangerous and everyone has been doing it already. It’s not even hipster anymore. I don’t think hipsters have ever liked heights come to think of it…

But you can do two things with this new trend. Firstly, you can look at all the amazing pictures of people doing crazy things. Dangerous and a bit stupid? Yes. Unimpressive? No.

You can thank me  for that double negative in the comments…

Secondly, you can do a much more mild version of this. I call it ‘near rooftopping’ and it’s very British in that it doesn’t like to be too showy. This trend doesn’t even qualify as a trend.

All you do is get near the edge of a rooftop where there is a safe barrier and you look at the view. Look at the moon, the stars and the buildings that are just so lot better when seen from up high. Enjoy the peace; do some long distance people watching and best of all, don’t kill yourself. Near rooftopping is the best because it actively shuns dying.

Seriously, why not get near a rooftop tonight, even the top floor of your house? Make sure it’s dark and quiet and just enjoy the view a bit.

I did it the other day and took this photo. It was actually a lot nicer than the photo suggests. I was at a rooftop car park in Newcastle.

image

It’s the best thing to do on a Friday night. Grab a friend and go for it.

What am I doing tonight? Well, I’m going to watch Gravity after I’ve eaten some Spaghetti. It’s not the best thing but it’s a good thing.

I’d love to see some of your rooftop photos – but if I see any danger, I’ll tell your mother. I’m not afraid to do that.

Happy double-post Friday everybody!

