Steve’s best activity to do outside on a summer night

I think the evenings in summer are really something special. You’ve spent the day getting all hot and annoyed that your car is a sweat-box lacking air conditioning, and then you reach the release of the evening.

Cool but still warm enough. The sun is shining and it gets dark late. It makes you feel alive. What do you do now? Where do you go?

The easy answer…have a fire!

Now, early on I need to establish this, I do not condone arson, nor am I a pyromaniac, I just really like having a fire with my friends. It’s great to relax, awaken your primitive instincts, stare into the embers, eat some marshmallows, drink some beer, listen to the crackle of wood succumbing to the flames and show everyone that learning the acoustic guitar has really paid off (Jack Johnson always goes down a treat).

In fact, it seems like a lot of my time in life has been spent having fires. I’ve had a fire in Switzerland…

Image

…a fire in York by a river…

Image

…a fire in Scotland on a white sandy beach…

Image

…but never a fire in Wales…

Image

…a fire in the Lake District…

Image

…a fire by a National Trust property with this crazy person…

21072010386

…a fire on a cake…

Image

…and finally, I even tried to have a fire in the rain on a wet beach…Image

…that one didn’t work out so well.

Other notable mentions: plenty of fires in Scarborough, a number across the Lake District, one on an Army training ground and most of Scotland.

Seriously if you haven’t had a fire, then you should go out and have one in a safe place – I would try to avoid a dry forest or on top of a petrol tank.

And don’t be discouraged if the fire doesn’t light, no-one really knows how to light a fire, there are just some who are better at hiding the paraffin…

