Steve’s 5 best font personalities

Fonts are so important in our modern society, probably more so than you’ve ever considered. They affect how we perceive a brand and they boost recognition of companies significantly, you can write anything in the Coca-Cola font and Joe Bloggs on the street will know who it refers to.

Throughout our day-to-day lives we all have our favourite fonts and we use them constantly, in emails to friends, writing up that essay or finishing off a piece of work.

But what do these fonts really tell me? How can I enter the psyche of the font user to really grasp the full meaning beyond the words? Well, helpfully, I’m here to give you a, by no means correct, guide to what a font truly says about the user.

Here are 5 fonts with 5 unique personalities:

times new romanI’m going to be honest with you, I’m not particularly tech-savvy and I’ve got to use this stupid font for everything because, for the life of me, I’ve no idea how to change it! My computer’s old and I do really hate this typeface…

calibri

So I bought a new computer and upgraded to Word 2007 but the interface makes no sense – what’s this stupid ribbon thing?! I thought these problems would leave me but Microsoft you’ve forced my hand once again, I’ve got no clue how to alter this font. I prefer it a bit to Times New Roman though, I’m not kicking up a fuss.

HelveticaNeue

What’s that? You haven’t heard of me? It’s probably because I’m a little bit too cool for you. I care an awful lot about how I look, and, honestly, even for my job as a cleaner, I really need the better graphics functions which come with an Apple computer.

Comic Sans MS

I REALLY LIKE PIE! LIKE A LOT! IT’S SO TASTY! WHY CAN’T THE WORLD BE A GIANT PIE! I WOULD BE SOOOO HAPPY! I LIKE BEING THE COOLEST AND BESTEST TEACHER IN THE WORLD – I’M DEFINITELY DOWN WITH THE KIDS! (Or, in fairness to Comic Sans MS) I work with people with dyslexia – apparently it’s very helpful.

WingdingsI’m not even going to pretend to understand the people that use Wingdings…

Hopefully you’re now entirely clued up and ready to judge poorly those that use these fonts. And if you do love one of these fonts then please, don’t take any offence, simply accept your typecast personality.

