Jon’s best book/film attempt

book and film

I bet you can picture the scene: a dozen or so Disney execs are sat around a table in their castle in Disneyland. The first item on the agenda is book releases – specifically which of their films would sell best in the written word.

After a bit of debate a plucky young man stands up and says, “Hey folks, why don’t we just do all of them?”

The disney execs look at each other and think it’s great idea – surely nothing bad can come of this. The motion is passed and they move on.

And that’s almost certainly how “Teen Beach Movie – book of the film” was born. This just had to be my best book/film attempt because it breaks new ground for me. I’ve honestly never seen anything like it.

For all the writers, designers, publishers that managed to swallow any sort of creative pride and produce this book – I salute you. I hope they paid you well.

The film is essentially a trippy high school musical set on a beach. Trippy because there is some sort of time travelling involved. If you like spoilers you’ll be pleased to know that it ends when the male lead

 accepts Mack’s decision, and everyone dances one last dance.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not suggesting you should watch or read this – though it probably has some unexpected merits… All you need to do is look at the front cover and marvel at how something like this came to be.

Because that’s it folks – books are now dead.

They died of shame.

 

As a final note, I’m officially suggesting a screening (or reading) of this story for the first Steve and Jon’s best social. Raise your hands if you’re with me…

 

 

 

