Steve’s best name for a business in his city

Image

Choosing a store’s name, a serious and important decision. Too brash and you’ll turn people away. Too nondescript and no-one will come to your store, let alone know that it exists. It is the happy medium which all stores seek, to be distinctive and stand out but not too distinctive that people are like, “woah, hold on a second, this place freaks me out!”

Obviously companies see this as a vital part of their make-up (especially given that people will always call them it – I do feel that I am somewhat stating the obvious, sorry about that) that they will change their name if things aren’t going so well because they believe this is the root of their problems or they think changing their name will fool the public.

Opposite my work there is a store which apparently keeps doing this. It was a furniture store and sadly, due to unknown circumstances, it had to close down. However a week later, after much a lick of paint was used, a new store sprung into place…another furniture store…YOU’RE NOT FOOLING ANYONE!

Not only does this behaviour occur in the cut-throat, dog-eat-dog, vicious, deceitful, money and greed driven world of the furniture business but it is also prevalent in the world of sweets. Searching for a Marathon bar nowadays is a futile task because the name of Snickers has taken its place, the same for Opal fruits and Starburst – they’re always chopping and changing to keep you on your toes.

And so, as I’ve outlined above, names are big business, so my “best” for today is the best name for a business in my city – Fishy Delishy.

Now, you may think that this isn’t quite as ground breaking as you had originally hoped. You’re thinking, “come on Stephen, that was lame, I’ve heard of better names!”. And I’m sure you have, but I’d like you to revisit this name again. Fishy Delishy. So simple yet so powerful. You know what it’s selling, you know it’s going to be delicious and it flipping rhymes! Ruminate on it, consider it, you’ll soon realise the strength it holds.

So, that was probably a bit extreme, and I hope I didn’t work you up into a fervour surrounding the name, that would be weird, but I like it. It’s nice.

A quick Google search reveals to me that chip shop owners are some of the most creative namers about – they’re are some brilliant ones. Check out this guy’s blog below and let us know your favourite in the comments below (what a hopeful statement that it’s not just Jon which reads this). I think mine is Fishcotheque.

http://mugofstrongtea.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/funny-names-for-fish-and-chip-shops.html

